General Assembly
General Assembly

The 8th General Assembly

May 15, 2009

A+ / A-

The 8th General Assembly of CAS Members and the 3rd General Assembly of CAE were jointly held from June 3 to 7 in 1996 in Beijing. State leaders Li Peng, Liu Huaqing, Wen Jiabao, Luo Gan and leaders from departments of the CPC central committee and State Council were present at the opening ceremony. Wu Jieping, vice chairman of the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress and a member of both the CAS and CAE presidiums, announced the theme of the two assemblies in his opening speech: To mobilize both CAS and CAE members to unite all scientists and engineers throughout the country in a bid to make fresh contributions to the full implementation of all the targets set in the Ninth Five-year Plan and the outlined prospective scheme for China’s socio-economic and S&T development up to 2010 in the course of actively promoting the strategic approaches of rejuvenating the nation with the aid of science and education and sustainable development. He also proclaimed the decision adopted by CAS and CAE that from 1996, the two academies would hold joint assemblies at the same venue in the first week of June in every two years.
Five Foreign Members of CAS Shiing-shen Chern, Chen Ning Yang, Samuel C.C. Ting, Chang-Lin Tien and Leroy L. Chang attended the opening ceremony of the Assembly and delivered speeches. At the eve of meeting, State leaders Li Peng, Liu Huaqing, Wen Jiabao and Luo Gan received them.
CAS President and Chairman of the CAS Presidium Zhou Guangzhao and CAE President Zhu Guangya made work reports respectively.
Premier Li Peng addressed the opening while Vice Premier Zhu Rongji made a report on the country’s economic situation, the institutional reform of the State-owned enterprises and the promotion of S&T progress at the closing ceremony.

The main tasks completed at the assembly included: holding academic lectures at the joint plenary sessions of the CAS and CAE assemblies, listening to work reports and electing its new leading body in different sessions of academic divisions, the adoption of revised version of the Bylaws for the CAS Members, the election of the second batch of Foreign Members of CAS, the election of the 3rd CAS Presidium, and the conferment of the 1995 Tan Kah Kee Awards.


Add: 15 Zhongguancunbeiyitiao Ave., Haidian District, Beijing 100190, China

Phone: 86-10-5935-8308(O) 5935-8300 (Fax)