Academic Divisions of the Chinese Academy of Sciences
HomePage > Old Homepage > NewsNews

HE-Liang-HE-Li Fund Awards 2006


Date: Jan 22nd, 2007

Author: MOST English NEWS

Click: 10 Clicks


HE-Liang-He-Li Fund Awards 2006 was grandly held in the afternoon of November 15,2006 in the Great Hall of the People in Beijing. This was the 13thawards ceremony of the Fund. CHEN Zhili, State Councilor, SU Jian, Former Vice Chairman of Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference, LI Zhaozhuo, Vice Chairman of Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference, and other chiefs of relevant government sectors attended the ceremony.


CHEN and SONG as well as representatives of the fund founders gave out awards respectively to 39 candidates for their promoting science and technology progress, and 20 candidates for materializing science and technology innovation. Awards for science and technology innovation is newly added to HE-Liang-HE-Li Fund Awards this year. 


Viewed from structure and credentials of awards winners, several characteristics indicating higher quality of their achievements can be observed as follows:


First, the average age of awards winners is 61.4, much lower than 68.8 for previous years, which shows the aging problem of awards winners being relieved.


Second, previously, awards winners from Chinese Academy of sciences (CAS) and Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS) mostly amounted to 75 percent of the total, while non-CAS or CASS winners only accounted for 25 percent. However, the proportion non -CAS or CASS winners hold this year has significantly stands for 49.2 percent of total winners.


Third, achievements of awards winners this year are markedly of higher academic level, 56.4 percent of which leveled with international academic front.


In addition, the number of female and minority winners is also above that in previous years. 


Present on the ceremony there were still LI Xueyong, Vice Minister of Science and Technology, ZHAO Qinping, Vice Minister of Education, BAI Chunli, Vice President of Chinese Academy of Sciences, DUAN Ruichun, Chairman of Working Office of Supervisory Panel for SOE, SASAC, SONG Nanping, member of Secretariat of China Association for Science and Technology, ZHU Daoben, Vice President of National Natural Science Foundation as well as some 300 experts, representatives from S&T, education and other circles of Bejing.